RSS Feed

Maniac? Menagerie?

Posted on

What is a maniac? 

a : madman; lunatic
b : a person characterized by an inordinate or ungovernable enthusiasm for something
 
What is a menagerie?
 
a : a place where animals are kept and trained especially for exhibition
b : a collection of wild or foreign animals kept especially for exhibition
 
That about sums up my life.  My menagerie includes two human youngsters, one male, one female, and currently one dog, one guinea pig, and a cockatiel on the way.  What was I thinking adding a bird to the mix?  I was thinking that after losing two mice and a gunnea pig recently we are low on madness in this house.  I don’t have enough time (maybe discipline) to clean things like toilets and sinks, so of course I need to add another cage and fill it with a pooping, mess making creature.  I do it because I’m a maniac.  I love my animals; including those to whom I have given birth.  Sometimes those are the hardest and most exotic animals in my care.  It’s amazing how my dog will eat the same food day after day and not complain.  He never askes to go to Six Flags.  He never yells, “Who Cares?” or “Leave me alone!” or “You are so mean!”  Then again, he does chew up my shoes… and the toilet paper… and toys, dishrags, dumps trash, barks at anything and everything that moves, humps unsuspecting guests, and smells like a baboon’s butt on occasion.  Come to think of it, he’s not so different from my kids afterall.  Except the humping… but they are still young.  Please wait for an update on that in a few years. 
 
One thing is certain, the amount of laughter I experience on a daily basis would be significantly lower if I didn’t have the joy of sharing my house with these interesting little creations of God that teach me that I have no control or power over this world.  I’m here for the ride and all I can do is learn to enjoy it, because getting off of this ride requires a permanant relocation that I’m not in a hurry to make!
 
 
Leave a Reply

