RSS Feed

Procreation Station

We are now running a breeding center.  We are looking to expand the menagerie.  Always.

I grew up with a veterinarian father.   Because of that we always had an odd assortment of animals around the house.  We also had the pleasure of experiencing litters of this and that being born and growing up.  My current suburban life doesn’t lend itself well for letting my children have the same up close and personal experience of witnessing the miracle of life like we did as kids.

I’ve been trying to think of a way to let my little animal-loving Girl Child have a litter of something cute and furry while still maintaining sanity.

The answer… MICE!  Small.  Mostly quiet.  Cheap.  Easy to rehome (usually with snake owning families, but we’ll worry about that later.)

Today we brought home two mice.  One studly male: Spice.  And one white little female: Sugar.

Tonight they are resting in their own little mouse-house.  So far, so good.  I’m glad, considering that it was an arranged marriage.  I’m nervous.  What if they don’t feel amorous towards one another?  Should I play Barry White and give them little thimbles of red wine?

I will be watching… wondering… if the old saying about the watched pot never boiling also translates to the watched mice mating.

Sugar and Spice: Lets hope they produce everything nice.  And if you (or your children) have a birthday coming up in the next month or so, be prepared for your own little pet baby mouse… as I’m sure I’ll be swimming in them before long.

   

4 responses »

  1. Kristy Upchurch Hawkins

    I love this story, and concept, Delaney!

    Like

    Reply
  2. When I lived with my brother and sister-in-law they had a litter of mice and I used to spend hours with my arm in their aquarium, letting all the tiny baby mice feet run around on my arm. It was so relaxing; it was practically meditation. I just had to keep an eye on them so they didn’t leap off my elbow into the big wild world of freedom.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    (shiver!!!) I’m not afraid of anything…except mice. I actually jumped up on a kitchen chair when the cat brought one in.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Maniac's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

