RSS Feed

How can something so vile be so full of love?

On New Year’s Day, while our men-folk were off seeing The Hobbit,  the Girl-Child was looking for attention.  I was nursing a bad cold.  She had several ideas that sounded too involved for my state of illness and I shot them down.  Finally she said, “I have an idea for an experiment.  It’ll be fun.”

I realized how much she just wanted my attention, and I really did want to know what this experiment was all about.

“Let’s put all the foods we love into a bowl and mix them up.  It’ll be awesome!”

Why I agreed to this journey is beyond me.  But I’m so glad I did.

We took turns putting our most beloved foods into the bowl.  It went like this: ham, M&M’s, ketchup, yogurt, clementines, corn chips, whipped cream, carrots, a cherry, goldfish crackers, peanut butter, fruit snacks, and bacon.  YUM.  Right?

There was something funny about each taking turns picking something that we love and adding it to the bowl.  I’m not sure what the experiment really was.  The hypothesis might have been, “I can get my sick mom to let me make a disastrous mess in the kitchen if I’m cute enough” or it might have had more depth, “If the items we love separately are combined, will it create an object of mega-love?”

Here is a pre-mixed picture of our ‘Love-food-ingredients’

ingredients

Then… She mixed it all up together.

mixed

Much to our surprise (no, no surprise here, it just sounded good to type) the sum total of our most beloved foods does not, in fact, equal the quintessential treat of our dreams.  To the contrary, it became a weapon of mass destruction.  Or the replacement torture method for waterboarding.

It was NASTY!

But it was a learning experiment.  I learned that everything has a time and place to be savored.  As Einstein is quoted to have said, “Everybody is a genius.  But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

Those really were good M&M’s.  They were mint.  My favorite.  But not mixed in ketchup and neon-blue Go-gurt.

We sometimes need to just enjoy each separate joy in our lives.  Thrusting them all together to try to expedite the experience keeps us from savoring each beautiful moment for the true genius that it is.

I was able to truly savor my little chef, who cooked up an idea just to get me off the couch and into here and now.   It’s a beautiful gift to take time to peel away the layers of the ugly parts of parenting and see the creative, goofy, out-of-the-box, child that God bestowed upon me.

It’s enough to make me want to do anything for her!  Almost!  Not enough to make me willing to eat that bowl of craptastic nastiness… But guess who was willing?

Lou eating

**DISCLAIMER**  No dogs were harmed in the making of this blog.  He was only allowed a lick or two.  Remember The Grape Incident?  My wallet can’t handle any more poisonous ingestion induced hospital stays for this albino miniature wookie!

9 responses »

  1. TalkingTourism

    Oh, now that looks like something that the Noodle would concoct, except she would add Cheeze-Its!

    Like

    Reply
  2. You are truly the best mom ever! I would never be able to let myself go long enough to allow that. She will remember that forever!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. How out of the box! thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Three tiny comments. First, I love this. The writing is awesome and fun.

    Second, you get some serious mom points for going along with her! Go you!

    And third, one of my friends is ridiculously tall, furry, and blonde. We call him the Albino Wookie. I’m glad we aren’t the only weird people who come up with such things.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

