RSS Feed

Best friends? Forever!

I’ve never been a big fan of the term “best friend.”  Not since about third grade when Paige told me that I was only her third best friend.  Third.  When do you stop counting? Fifth?  Tenth? With girls, B.F.Fs are like busses at a bus stop, if you wait around long enough you’ll see dozens come and go. It’s more like B.F.U. Best Friends Until… I’ve tried to steer my own daughter away from this term.  I point out that I have many friends and some of whom are ‘bests’ for different aspects of my life.  They are all special and important and some of my friends are so close and have been with me so long that they are more like family, why label them.  I mean, who want’s to know that they are THIRD on your list, right? I had an epiphany.  I just might be one of the lucky few who has a true BEST FRIEND FOREVER. My best friend has been with me for decades… multiple, decades.  She has literally seen me at my best and worst, sometimes in the same day. Sometimes I burst into tears the moment I hear her voice on the phone because I’ve held it in all day and the feeling of safety when I hear her voice is that overwhelming. My best friend and I laugh until our insides liquefy, then we laugh some more.  Loudly.  In public.  We don’t even care who sees us. She encourages me to become a better version of myself.  She knows just when to listen and she knows when what I really need is to be slapped in the face with a big dose of reality.  She does the slapping too! Have my best friend and I had fights?  Oh, mercy!  Yes!  Ugly ones too.  But, that’s life.  We don’t judge each other by our worst moments.  Fortunately I’ve learned a lot about forgiveness , mercy, and grace from my best friend as well. Was our friendship immediate?  No.  Our love was.  But our friendship took decades to develop.  We had to go through many stages from dependence, rebellion, and humility to get to the stage of being best friends. My best friend gave me the greatest gift that can be given… life.  My best friend is my mother. I know that this is a treasure and a gift.  Not everyone is lucky enough to have their mom for a best friend and their best friend for a mom. I’m the luckiest girl in the world! I love you mommy! ~~Delaney IMG_0097  

5 responses »

  1. I don’t like the term BFF either. I love your explanation of special friends for different seasons of life…that’s the way I’ve always felt about it too. Awesome that you have such a great relationship with your mom. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. I don’t like the term either, Delaney, although I had more than my fair share when I was younger. I guess there is something about branding someone “my.best.friend” that perhaps make us more secure that the MY won’t become YOUR, you know??

    But it IS a blessings to have your mother as your closest friend. That is such a volatile relationship, so to come out on the other side with grace, respect and love is quite a feat.

    Blessings to you both,
    Dani

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

