RSS Feed

Excuse me while I remove this Tupperware from my mouth…

This is a very unofficial guide to Invisalign.  So, you think you’d like straight teeth?  You have crowding that makes it hard to floss and painful to eat foods that get caught?  You don’t want the unsightly look of train tracks across your smile?  There is another way!  Invisalign.

But, before you start, I’d like to give you some words of wisdom.  Seeing as how I’ve successfully completed my first two weeks of treatment, I’m a total expert.

  1. Ignorance is bliss! So you think that wearing Invisalign will be much easier and more comfortable than traditional braces?  It’s just a little piece of plastic and you can take it out?  Keep thinking that!  Or, I’ll let you in on a secret.  They are so tight that you will feel like you have vice grips on your teeth and sometimes you might check in the mirror to make sure you aren’t really ripping your teeth out by the roots when removing them- because that’s how they feel.  And thin plastic?  Sure.  It’s like wearing Tupperware sweaters on your teeth.  For the first week I felt like I had a Transformer parked in my mouth!
  2. Nail file!  Girl’s best friend is a nail file, especially if that girl wears Invisalign!  The edges of these suckers can be sharp!  Guess what your tongue automatically does with anything new, even sharp, in your mouth?  RUBS IT!  Shredded tongue = No fun!  As soon as you get a new set of trays be sure to file down and edges that look the least bit sharp or pointy.  Ahhhh, it’s bliss after a good file!
  3. Straws!  Buy some straws.  It’s the easiest way to drink while they are in.  Plus, you can fudge a little and drink something other than water by using a straw to bypass your teeth.  I still only would do it with clear things: vodka, white wine, gin & tonics… you get my point.
  4. Keep them in!  No brainer?  No, really, keep them in.  They only work if they are in.  The minute you take them out it’s like the cage doors open and your teeth take off running.  The longer they are out the more it hurts to put them back in.  Which leads me to…
  5. Eat fast!  Long leisurely meals followed by sipping on a couple glasses of wine?  Not anymore.  Hork that food down like a lion and drink like a sailor.  You’ve only got 20-30 minutes before you are setting yourself up for a painful reinsertion of your trays! It just might be a great incentive to lose that last 8-10 pounds since I don’t find it worth the trouble to nibble on snacks all day long anymore.
  6. Wine!  Speaking of that wine I mentioned, I’ll let you in on a little secret: Wine is the best medicine for numbing the initial pain of new trays.  Chug! Chug! Chug!

Maybe my opinions are a little skewed to the negative right now.  Everyone I’ve talked to says that after about a month it is all easy, routine, and that I’ll forget all about the trays.  I do have to say, I’m still glad I’m doing it.  Who am I to miss an opportunity to lose a few pounds and drink a lot more wine?

So far it’s too soon to comment on how they are working.  Stay tuned!

~~Delaney Rhea

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: What’s a little spittle between friends? | The Maniac's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

