Exactly 10 months ago I shattered my ankle. It’s a great story, if you missed it click here. At the time it happened I scoured the internet for an injury just like mine. I could find lots of ankle fractures, a couple trimalleolar fractures, maybe a dislocation, but I could never find one so grotesquely dislocated to the outside (eversion) like mine. As I was repeatedly told by doctors, nurses, and physical therapists it was a “unicorn” injury. It just wasn’t common enough to find a lot of them online. I needed to see it though. I needed to know if I’d ever be okay. I wanted to understand what happened inside of my skin that day and to read all about the process of recovery. But, alas, I was kind of alone to blaze the trail.

All this changed a few days ago when NBA Celtics player, Gordon Hayward, did pretty much the exact same thing to his ankle.  It was described as grizzly and gruesome and I can’t get enough of the media coverage. On one hand it stirs up my PTSD to see him laying there on the court with his foot pointing to wrong direction (I remember that feeling!) on the other hand I’m finally getting the detailed information about this horrifying injury that I so desperately wanted when mine was so new. This handy graphic is a great illustration of what broke and how my foot was able to turn 90 degrees to the outside and then fall limp away from my leg.

BH-2017-10-20-A002

My heart absolutely aches for Gordon. He has no idea what’s in store. Although in most ways I know he is in a better position to heal from this injury than a middle aged, not in great physical condition, housewife with commoners insurance and limited access to covered physical therapy, but I still know that he is not going to be returning to playing basketball anytime soon, if ever.

I think about the frustration and tears I’ve had in the last 10 months because I can’t go to the mall, zoo, or Six Flags with my kids. I have to plan one outing at a time with lots of leg up rest time afterwards. I’m in pain EVERY SINGLE DAY. When I’m not wearing supportive shoes with an orthotic insert my foot collapses and I can barely walk. It’s life changing. It has been humbling. I haven’t always handled it well but at least it didn’t end a dream career for me.  I can’t tell you how many times my husband and I have joked about being thankful I don’t have to walk/stand/run for a living! It’s not a funny joke anymore.

The articles I have read so far mention that he won’t walk with full weight for 1.5-2 months (It was closer to 3 for me) and that he has 4-6 months of intense therapy (yup, so far I can agree) and that it will take a couple years to see where his full recovery lands him (I’m not there yet.) So far everyone seems to be keeping alive hope that he will return to professional basketball. I pray that he does. I pray that this injury doesn’t steal his livelihood and his happiness. I pray that he has a great support system and lots of friends and family to rally around him in these horrific first months where he will have so much pain, frustration, and fear.

Best of luck Gordon Hayward, from one broken janky-ankled gimp to another.

~~Delaney Rhea

*Too bad the only way I’d ever physically have something in common with a professional athlete is in broken bones!

Leave a comment